Fires that do not require a fire permit in a Prohibited Fire Season include:

  • Gas barbeques

A Prohibited year round Fire Season applies to:

  • Queenstown Red Zone
  • Pigeon and Pig Island, Lake Wakatipu
  • Coronet Forest
  • Mount Iron
  • Ruby Island, Stevensons, Mou Waho and Mou Tapu Islands, Lake Wanaka
  • Albert Town Recreation Reserve and Campground

Fire and Emergency New Zealand
85 Castle Street
0800 673 473 (external link)